Home Fact Check FIFA U20 Women’s World Cup: Danjuma calls Home based Players for Burundi clash
Fact Check

FIFA U20 Women’s World Cup: Danjuma calls Home based Players for Burundi clash

FIFA U20 Women’s World Cup: Danjuma calls Home based Players for Burundi clash

Head Coach Christopher Musa Danjuma has invited goalkeepers Anderlin Mgbechi and Shukurat Bakare, defenders Oluchi Ohaegbulam and Comfort Folorunsho, midfielders Taiwo Afolabi and Adoo Yina, and forwards Chiamaka Okwuchukwu, Chisom Chima and Aminat Omowunmi Bello among a cast of 25 players for next month’s FIFA U20 Women’s World Cup qualifying fixture against Burundi.

Also on the roster are FIFA U17 World Cup bronze-medallist goalkeeper Faith Omilana, defenders Jumoke Alani, Emamuzo Edafe and Shukurat Oladipo, as well as midfielders Chinyere Kalu and Chioma Olise, and forwards Opeyemi Ajakaye, Oluwayemisi Samuel and Janet Akekoromowei.

READ MORE: NWFL: Starter role will end in victory – Heartland Queens Star Chinaka shares optimism

The invited players are expected to resume camp in the Federal Capital, Abuja, on Wednesday, 27th December.

After reaching the third round of the qualification series without kicking a ball following the withdrawal of Mauritius, the Falconets edged their counterparts from Tanzania 3-2 on aggregate in the second round last month, setting up a clash with the East Africans who had sent packing from the race, the U20 girls of South Africa and the Democratic Republic of Congo.

Burundi will host the first leg of the fixture in Bujumbura within the weekend of 12th – 14th January, with the return leg at the MKO Abiola National Stadium, Abuja, on Saturday, 20th January.

READ MORE: Plateau SWAN Condemns Plateau United Acting GM’s Criticism, Calls for Apology

The winner of the fixture will reach the last round of the qualification series, with those matches to be played in March 2024.


Goalkeepers: Kehinde Afuye (FC Robo Queens); Faith Omilana (Naija Ratels); Anderlin Mgbechi (Delta Queens); Shukurat Bakare (Nasarawa Amazons)

Defenders: Jumoke Alani (Edo Queens); Oluwabunmi Semilore (Naija Ratels); Oluchi Ohaegbulam (Nasarawa Amazons); Shukurat Oladipo (FC Robo Queens); Comfort Folorunsho (Edo Queens); Emamuzo Edafe (Rivers Angels); Rebecca Adegbemile (Delta Queens)

Midfielders: Taiwo Afolabi (Delta Queens); Chinyere Kalu (Nasarawa Amazons); Aminat Folorunsho (Rivers Angels); Shukurat Shobowale (Nasarawa Amazons); Chioma Olise (Edo Queens); Adoo Yina (Nasarawa Amazons)

Forwards: Chiamaka Okwuchukwu (Rivers Angels); Aminat Bello (Unattached); Opeyemi Ajakaye (FC Robo Queens); Chiamaka Osuigwe (Edo Queens); Chisom Chima (Bayelsa Queens); Mary Nkpa (Heartland Queens); Janet Akekoromowei (Asisat Academy); Oluwayemisi Samuel (Bayelsa Queens)

Facebook Comments Box

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Articles

Surulere Marathon gets backing from Lagos Sports Chief

The Lagos State Sports Commission has pledged its full support behind “LERE...

NWFL Super 6 Full draws

The Nigeria Women Football League (NWFL) Super 6 will start on Saturday...

Rangers, Remo Stars and Enyimba: Who will win the NPFL this season?

Ganiyu Muftau As Nigeria premier football league heading to the final show...

Boniface named in Bundesliga Team of the season

From the initial 40 nominees, Nigerian forward Victor Boniface gets a nod...

Verified by MonsterInsights